Mid Southern Group

Daffodil enthusiasts felt that there was need of a group in the central southern area of England and so The Mid Southern Daffodil Group was formed in 1989 with the intention of covering Berks, Surrey, West Sussex, Bucks, Oxon and S.E. Hants areas.

It has been successful in this quest and has an enthusiastic, non fee paying membership, currently around 60 members.

The group usually holds a daffodil show at its Chobham venue, the date of which is the last Sunday in March (this date can unfortunately clash with changing to BST resulting in “jet lagged” bleary eyed competitors!). Each October the group holds a bulb sale and general meeting at Virginia Water, a last chance to meet up before the winter months close in.

The present committee ably led by Vic Coe, secretary Alex Burke, George and Mrs Margaret Oakley, Malcolm Hill, Stafford Salt, Mrs Garry Aston-Coe Mrs Tammy Smithers, Graham Thirkettle and Den Hawkins offers a warm welcome to old and prospective members interested in our hobby.

Mid Southern Daffodil Group report to Daffodil Society January 2018
Very best wishes to yourself and fellow committee members and appreciation for your combined work in keeping the society functioning.

Our show due to take place on the 25th March 2018 has been cancelled, exhibitors blooms having fallen victim to the recent bad weather.
We held a very successful bulb sale and talk last October and wish to record our thanks for the supply, and supplier, of the excellent bulbs. The afternoon session was a very informative and interesting interesting talk given by Andrew Gaunt , Plant Health and Seeds scientist from DEFRA. Whose theme was “ The role of the DEFRA Plant Health Service”  This role definitely needs to be more publicised and the general public be made aware of the problems we face from unregulated imports of flora and vegetables into the UK.

Our membership is slowly tailing off, sickness and old age being the main problem. We face the same problems as all other societies, lack of newer, younger members, and a reluctance of members to join the committee.

In 2016 we sadly lost our treasurer, Malcolm Hill. In his memory a trophy was supplied, and presented by his family at our 2017  show, a much appreciated gesture by all members.
We have also said “farewell” to Keith Garland  and John Smith, both founder members of our group. Also George Oakley, committee member, suffered a severe stroke and sadly is severely incapacitated.

Society Contacts
General Secretary

  • Mr Alex Burke
  • 62 Beechwood Avenue
  • Woodley
  • Reading
  • RG5 3DG
  • Telephone Number:
  • E-mail:

Chairman/Show Secretary

  • Vic Coe
  • Albamar
  • North Street
  • Widmer End
  • Hazlemere
  • HP15 6ND
  • Email: